MLB

PAVANO ON THE SPOT

LAKELAND, Fla. – With Carl Pavano the betting favorite to be the Yankees’ Opening Day starter, Jason Giambi hopes the embattled hurler capitalizes on a golden opportunity to show his teammates and fans he can be counted on in a time of need.

“I know what it’s like to pick yourself up. I hope he embraces it,” Giambi said. “This is a chance to show everybody the type of pitcher he is. I know what it’s like to come from hell. I have danced with the devil a few times.”

To many, Pavano is the devil who wears pinstripes. Yet, because Chien-Ming Wang will open on the DL, Andy Pettitte’s back is barking, Joe Torre doesn’t want to pitch Mike Mussina on short rest and Jeff Karsten’s elbow stiffened yesterday, the choice is between Kei Igawa and Pavano.

“I don’t know if I envisioned that,” Pavano said of being the Opening Day starter against the Devil Rays a week from today at Yankee Stadium after not having worked off a big league mound since June 27, 2005.

To his credit, Pavano understands it’s time for him to carry the other pitchers after riding their backs for the past two seasons.

“If I get the opportunity, it’s my turn to pick up the slack,” Pavano said. “It’s a positive for me because I was always on the other end with those guys picking up my slack.”

*

Jorge Posada was sent home for the second straight day yesterday. “His throat is still puffy,” Torre said of the catcher, who hasn’t played since Thursday . . . Sean Henn didn’t help his chance of making the club as the second lefty reliever yesterday when he gave up three runs and five hits in 12/3 innings in a 9-5 loss to the Tigers.

*

Torre hasn’t announced his batting order, but yesterday said Bobby Abreu will hit third.

“It’s tough for me not to because he gets on base and with the people behind him,” Torre said of the right fielder who was given yesterday off. Abreu hasn’t been hindered by the oblique muscle problem since returning last Tuesday.

Johnny Damon and Derek Jeter will bat in front of Abreu. The rest of the lineup likely will look this way: Alex Rodriguez fourth, Jason Giambi fifth, Hideki Matsui sixth, Posada seventh, Robinson Cano eighth and Doug Mientkiewicz ninth.