Evening listening

Published on under the Life category.

Asking yourself the question “what can I make next?” is good until it’s not. I am excited by the premise of building something new unless days pass without ideas; then, things get more stressful. Thus, after several days of worrying about what to build next – worrying, indeed – I have been trying to take my mind off what I want to create next. This evening, I turned to math, then music.

While traversing the annals of some of my favourite childhood musicians whose works I have not listened to in a while, I came across a rap song where the top YouTube comment was “Who else is randomly listening to old songs?” This warmed my heart. I am! I am randomly listening to old songs. And I am having so much fun doing it. One commentor later says “I’m just revisiting songs from my childhood. Damn, I miss the 2000s.” 2000s music is terrific, indeed.

I am left feeling like I need to explore music from more 2000s rappers, and R&B music. For regular readers, you may think “James, that isn’t Taylor Swift!”, to which I would say “Indeed!” with a smile on my face.

When I was growing up, I enjoyed a lot of pop music, including the occasional song from rappers like GymClassHeroes. I have not explored the rap genre too much, aside from a few artists recommended to me over time like Kids These Days, a delightful group from Chicago. Now, I find myself wanting to go back to listen to more rap music from the 2000s.

It’s getting late, so I should probably get some sleep. Well, maybe one more song. Queues up Timbaland’s “Give It to Me”.

Go Back to the Top