Where the people are sweeter than the waffles

Published on under the Life category.

I return to the diner; warmly welcomed by staff and a regular I had met the previous day. I sat down with a smile. The regular has been going to this cafe for longer than I have been alive. Coming in from the rain, I feel warm.

Hash brown, waffles, eggs, coffee. The smell of food perpetuates in the air. I notice little details in the wall. A Cafe dú Monde mug. A sign that says the diner is a place where the people are sweeter than the waffles. True, indeed.

I sit in quiet contemplation as the rain falls outside. A staff member remarks on if the weather today is like it is in Scotland. I confirm. The rain has poured heavily for over an hour. I forget about the elements while immersed in what is happening inside.

Customers leave to a warm goodbye. The regular leaves to a “see you tomorrow” from the staff. He goes on to start his day. As I will, too. So shall all the others that come after I have left, craving the fuel they need to start their day; coffee, waffles, eggs. A person sits at the bar, waiting for a friend. I say “goodbye”. I brace the rain outside. My day continues.

Go Back to the Top