York Coffee Recommendations

Published on under the Coffee category.

A street in York

I spent the weekend in York after making a somewhat spontaneous decision to visit the city this month. York is an excellent destination for people who enjoy history. There is religious, Roman, royal, political, governmental, and other roots of history to be found in the area. I am astounded at the age of many of the old buildings in the city. It’s not every day you can say you saw a cathedral whose construction began over 800 years ago (York Minster).

While in York, I visited many coffee shops and cafes. I wanted to document the ones I visited and enjoyed in case any readers may find themselves in York and interested in finding a good cup of coffee. Notably, I did not explore too many independent tea houses in the area, although this is something I would like to do next time I visit. I did, however, taste many excellent cups of coffee.

Here are the coffee shops I visited and enjoyed:

  1. Spring Espresso (both locations)
  2. Betty’s (where I had arguably the tastiest pot of tea I have ever had)
  3. Little Arras (bakery with excellent coffee)
  4. Brew and Brownie
  5. 200 Degrees (they had great cold brew)

If you are ever in York, I’d recommend stopping by at least one of the places above. I cannot vouch for Betty’s coffee for they are more of a tea house, arguably one of if not the best known tea houses in York. I mentioned Betty’s because it is, like many tourist guides say, a place that you don’t want to miss when you visit the city. The breakfast I had there was delicious, paired with a Chinese rose tea – my first time trying such a tea! I would like to go back there to have afternoon tea one day, too.

Go Back to the Top