Bawdy Joy Behar Needles Connie Chung About “Acting Like A Man” To Fit In During Early Days Of Her Career: “Did You Scratch Your Testicles?”

Where to Stream:

The View

Powered by Reelgood

No one is safe from Joy Behar‘s razor-sharp wit — not even an esteemed guest like Connie Chung. The View welcomed the broadcast journalist on this morning’s show, where she chatted about her new book Connie, dished on her marriage to Maury Povich and, of course, got grilled by Behar.

Across her decades-long career, Chung has interviewed some of the world’s most important figures and served as an anchor and reporter on major networks like ABC, CBS, NBC and CNN, but she told The View her road to success wasn’t an easy one, especially as a Chinese American woman.

“When I started, I was among a sea of white men,” she said, which prompted Behar to dig a little deeper.

“I read in the book that because of all the harassment and all the B.S. that you had to put up with with all these white guys, that you decided to start to act like a guy, and I thought, well, did you like scratch your testicles, what did you do?” she asked her guest.

Behar continued, “Did you smoke a cigar? Did you sit with your legs open and mansplain? What did you do?”

Before Chung answered, she took a moment to appreciate Behar’s signature humor.

“Joy, I miss you,” she told Behar. “Really, I miss all of Joy’s incredible humor.”

Behar, never missing a beat, shot back, “Well I’m still here!” before asking, “Where do you miss me?”

Chung replied, “I’ve been underground. I’ve risen from the dead now,” then told Behar, “You know I haven’t been around,” which earned her an abrupt, “Yes, I miss you too,” from the co-host.

Joy Behar
Photo: ABC

While Chung chatted with the Hot Topics table about her memoir, she detailed the start of her career, which she partially credited to initially being an “affirmative action hire” along with other women.

“I know that if the 1964 Civil Rights Act had not become law and the Equal Employment Opportunities Commission not been formed, then I might not be here today, or might not have taken the path that I did,” she told the panel. “But the fact is, is that these companies had to make up for all these years of discrimination of never hiring women and minorities.”

The View airs weekdays at 11/10c on ABC.