Ellen DeGeneres Says She Should Have Told ‘Ellen’ Viewers “Go F*** Yourselves” Instead Of “Be Kind To One Another” In New Netflix Special

Ellen DeGeneres is not holding back in her new Netflix special For Your Consideration.

In a new trailer for her stand-up special, DeGeneres catches her up fans up to what she’s been doing since The Ellen DeGeneres Show went off the air in 2022.

“I decided to take up gardening. I got chickens. Let me see, what else I can tell you,” she says as she pulls out a crumpled up paper from her pocket and appears to read off of the list. “Oh yeah, I got kicked out of show business,” she announces with a bright smile.

DeGeneres goes on to candidly address the headlines that proclaimed “the ‘be kind’ girl wasn’t kind,” as she puts it in the special, referring to the explosive Buzzfeed report that claimed she and her top producers fostered a toxic work environment on set.

According to her, the report wouldn’t have been such a big deal if she decided to use a very different sign-off on her show instead of her signature farewell message, “Be kind to one another.”

“Here’s the problem,” she explains in the special. “I’m the comedian who got a talk show and ended the show every day by saying ‘Be kind to one another.’ Had I ended the show by saying ‘Go fuck yourselves,’ people would have been pleasantly surprised to learn that I’m kind.”

For Your Approval Ellen Degeneres
Photo: Netflix

It looks like DeGeneres isn’t under any illusions about her place in the business after that exposé claimed she was a toxic boss.

“I didn’t go into this business for money. It was about healing my childhood wounds,” she candidly says at one point.

“I thought, if I can make people happy, then they’ll like me. And if they like me, I’ll feel good about myself,” she says in the trailer. “And all I can say about that is: Thank God for the money.”

DeGeneres and her wife Portia de Rossi co-produce the series alongside Ben Winston. For Your Approval marks her first time back on the comedy stage in six years since her Netflix special Relatable.

But the comedian has already confirmed this will be her last stand-up special.

DeGeneres summed up For Your Consideration in a single statement when the special was first announced: “To answer the questions everyone is asking me: Yes, I’m going to talk about it. Yes this is my last special. Yes, Portia really is that pretty in real life.”

Scroll up to check out the new trailer.

Ellen DeGeneres: For Your Approval premieres on Netflix Sept. 24.