Queue And A

‘Owning Manhattan’ Star Chloe Tucker Caine Talks “Bawling” To Ryan Serhant After Giving Birth, Friendship With Jade Shenker, And Season 2 “NDAs”

Where to Stream:

Owning Manhattan

Powered by Reelgood

If you don’t recognize Chloe Tucker Caine from her viral TikTok videos, you’ll definitely know her as the real estate powerhouse who emerged as Owning Manhattan’s breakout star. As a former Broadway actress, the SERHANT agent uses her background in theater to help her score major listings — and “smoke” her competitors in the process. But her real estate prowess wasn’t the only fun thing to watch on the show. Tucker Caine also managed to find herself in some of Owning Manhattan’s most captivating drama, making her equally as perfect for the world of reality television.

Some of that drama came from Tucker Caine’s clash with her friend and fellow real estate agent Jade Shenker, who didn’t get the reaction she was hoping for when she opened up about her husband’s affair. Instead, Tucker Caine was more annoyed that Shenker hadn’t told her sooner. Despite their past blips, Tucker Caine assured DECIDER that she and Shenker “love each other.”

“I feel like she’s probably my soulmate. And so it gets really intense sometimes. And feelings were very hurt with certain things that happened,” she said, admitting that she “should’ve been there” for Shenker as she dealt with her marital woes.

Tucker Caine, for her part, announced in the show’s first season that she was expecting her first baby. She and her husband welcomed their daughter Charley in March of this year — and they even received some parenting advice from her boss Ryan Serhant.

“I think it was two days after giving birth. He calls me, he’s like, ‘Hey, mama. Just wanted to check in on you.’ And I just start bawling,” she said. “He’s like, ‘Take a breath. The first month is the hardest. Just, you know, take care of yourself.’ And I got off the phone and I was like, did I just bawl my eyes out to Ryan Serhant? Yes, I did.”

Just one day after Netflix confirmed its plans for a second season of Owning Manhattan, Tucker Caine stopped by DECIDER’s offices, where she dished on Season 2 “NDAs,” working for Serhant, and where she currently stands with her fellow castmates. Check out the full interview below.

DECIDER: First things first, congratulations on the Season 2 renewal! How are you feeling about that?

CHLOE TUCKER CAINE: I am so relieved because I feel like we felt like we had such a great reaction from people, but then you’re like, “Wait, did people like it? They liked it, right?” And then we got the news and we’re like, “Okay, great. Everyone liked it.” We’re so excited.

Do you have any information about timelines, when you start filming, etc.? 

So what happened was yesterday – we have a group chat with the whole cast and Ryan. And Ryan was like, “Everyone get on this FaceTime right now.” And we all get on. And he’s like, “Okay, we are greenlit for Season 2, probably starting two to three weeks. I have no idea. I got to go, like, I got to go to a meeting, have fun.” And we were like, “Wait, what? Like, give us more details. What’s happening?” So yeah, we don’t know.

'Owning Manhattan'
Photo: Netflix

What are you hoping to showcase in Season 2? Do you have any exciting deals or listings in the works?

This is going to be really interesting for me because we ended filming Season 1 in March and a week later I gave birth. So I really wanted to take some time off and be with the baby. And she’s now six months. So I’m really going back into the workforce and I almost feel like I have to, in some ways, start over because I’ve been out of it for such a period of time. So you’re going to see a lot of “yes,” from Chloe. I am going to be the yes queen. Whatever anyone needs, I’m there. And I’m excited to kind of explore this new side of me now that I am a mom and, you know, have learned a lot of life lessons from the whole process. So it’ll be interesting.

I think it’s really great that new moms will get to see you getting back into it and balancing a successful career and a baby at the same time.

I think that’ll be great. And, you know, this will be new for me. And I feel like there’s so many new moms out there and we could all kind of figure it out together. So that’ll be really nice.

We got a statement from Ryan yesterday teasing that 200 Amsterdam would be featured in Season 2 – and that Succession filmed there! Will you be working on this listing with him?

I hope so. I hope he makes us all pitch for it because I feel really confident I’ll smoke them all. So fingers crossed we get to do a little pitch competition. 

I loved watching you pitch against Nile last season. I was rooting for you!

Oh my God, thank you. I was so nervous about that one … I mean, I’m from theater, you know, my background is in performing, so I’m like, “Okay, what are my lines? What are my beats? What are my actions like?” I come into it from that perspective. And so yeah, I was like, “It’s performance time. It’s showtime!”

'Owning Manhattan'
Photo: Netflix

It’s no secret that you were absolutely a fan-fav this season. How did the cutthroat nature of the theater world prepare you for being a real estate agent?

I think it really goes back to prep. I will always be over-prepped. I might not have the experience as someone in the industry 20 years, 10 years, but I will smoke you with prep every time because of my performing background. 

How has your life changed since starring on Owning Manhattan?

It’s so interesting. I’ve built a really great TikTok community of a lot of new moms. I used to do a lot of healthy hacks and New York life. So I was kind of already used to running into people on the street. But now it’s kind of this whole other thing, and the show is really such a beast. So I have people coming up to me on the street and I’m always like, “Was I a bitch? Like, was I okay?” So it’s really fun to kind of get that feedback from people in real-time.

I am absolutely obsessed with the TikToks you and Ryan make. How hard is it to convince him to be a part of these videos? 

It’s incredibly easy. I feel like any time you see Ryan, he’s just like waiting for you to, like, ask him to make a TikTok or do something creative because his background is also in performing. So I think he really likes those little challenges.

I loved the “HOT TO GO!” one. I thought it was so funny.

That was the first time I’ve been in the same room as Jade and Ryan [in] like months, so that was really wild.

Well, what’s your favorite thing about working for Ryan? 

He’s so creative and he’s a yes guy. There’s no idea that is too much or too crazy. He is like, “You had this idea, go for it. And how can I help you make it happen?” And he’s just fun. And he’s the type of guy you can call him or text him at any time and he will answer you. And that’s not just me, that’s everyone in the company. And I’ve never experienced anything like that.

Ryan revealed in the show that a client once threatened to murder him if he didn’t get him out of his contract. Do you have any crazy real estate stories of your own that you can share?

I feel like they’re all so crazy … Oh, my God, we’ve had so many. We’ve had issues with an owner and a cat and [the owner loved] the cat so much. [They] wanted the cat around and [at] all the showings then people were allergic and there were issues with treats. Every single listing has its own set of complications and crazies in some way, but I love it. I live for the craziness of it all, and I enjoy it when the owners are a little bit out there. The buyers are really, you know, intense. It’s fun.

I want to get into this season’s drama. There was a lot going on between you and Jade. In the show, you do ultimately make up. But on Watch What Happens Live, you seemed to be going at it again. What’s the status of your friendship these days?

Oh, Lord. Sam, that’s a great question. Jade and I love each other. I’ve said this before – I feel like she’s probably my soulmate. And so it gets really intense sometimes. And feelings were very hurt with certain things that happened. Looking back on it all, I think the biggest thing I realized is regardless of what I thought happened or if she was making something up or embellishing, it doesn’t matter. The fact was, she was a friend of mine that was hurting and I should have been there for her as opposed to trying to play Detective Gadget and really understand the ins and outs. It wasn’t my business.

'Owning Manhattan'
Photo: Netflix

When we talked to Ryan, we asked if he would ever give Jonathan Nørmølle a second chance and he said, “You never know.” How would you feel if Jonathan came back to SERHANT?

They didn’t give me any screen time with Jonathan. And I was like, “Let me at him, let me at him.” So I hope he’s back because I think that would be fun for me. I don’t know how anyone else feels. Oh, my God, that’s so Chloe-coded to make it all about me. But, yeah, I don’t know, I hope so.

I need to see you tear him apart.

Same. Come on! Bring him back in.

Things seemed to be going well when Savannah Gowarty was working with you, but it’s revealed in the season finale that she ultimately decided to leave SERHANT. What happened? 

I think she had a very clear vision of what she wanted to be doing and her career. And, you know, people discount Savannah, but I actually think she’s so smart and she really goes after what she wants. And at the end of the day, SERHANT is an amazing company, as we know, but it wasn’t exactly what she wanted for herself and she wanted to explore other things. And I’m really proud of her. She’s kicking ass.

Are you guys still close?

My little Savvy-Sav? Yeah. We talk all the time. We get coffee. I love her. I love my little Southern belle. 

I am curious – are there any celebrities you’re currently working with that might make an appearance in Season 2?

NDAs. I will keep my mouth shut, which is not my strong suit, but we’re working on it, so I’m going to just [zip it]. And you’re gonna have to wait and see.

'Owning Manhattan'
Photo: Netflix

I know we already talked about Jade. But how is your relationship with the other agents? Is there any drama you can tease that could potentially make it into Season 2?

It’s so interesting. I am really close with a lot of the cast that you didn’t really get to see. Like, Jess Taylor is one of my best friends. Trisha, Jordan Hurt. And I feel like we’re all kind of in a really good place – even Jess [Markowski]. I give her a lot of credit. I think she really owned her shit. She was like, “I screwed up and I’m going to just focus on the work.” And she’s crushing it, so I feel like we are all in a good place. I’m sure that will last another five minutes. It’s all gonna hit the fan. But for now, you know, we’ll see what ends up happening. People get really competitive when it comes to our business, and so I’m sure it’s just a matter of time.

You’re also a new mom! Did Ryan share any parenting advice with you?

He called me. I think it was two days after giving birth. He calls me, he’s like, “Hey, mama. Just wanted to check in on you.” And I just start bawling. I was like, “Hi. I’m so overwhelmed. Like, I’m so stressed.” And he’s like, “Take a breath. The first month is the hardest. Just, you know, take care of yourself.” And I got off the phone and I was like, did I just bawl my eyes out to Ryan Serhant? Yes, I did. 

Which of your fellow Serhant team members would you trust to babysit Charley?

Oh, Jess Taylor. Well, actually, no, she hates kids. Let me actually rephrase that. Who would I trust the most? Trisha? No, Trisha would be like, “You figure it out yourself.” I feel like Jade, surprisingly, or Jordan hurt. Jordan Hurt or Jade. 

Jade is the person I would go to for everything. Even if we were fighting, hated each other, I would be like, “Hey, can you help me? I’m in a pickle.” And she would be like, “Okay, what do you need?” That’s just how we always have been. 

Are you watching any other real estate shows? And why is Owning Manhattan the best one?

I’m so biased. I think we have something so special and unique. I, of course, love Selling Sunset. I love all those shows for the glitz and glamor of it all. But I think we have the best show. No, I’m not watching any other real estate show, why would I? 

Million Dollar Listing, that’s fun. I started watching it from the beginning a while back and that is so wild to see. You know, Ryan, Season 1 is insane. 

This interview has been edited for clarity and length.

The first season of Owning Manhattan is currently streaming on Netflix.