‘Jimmy Kimmel Live’ Host Jeff Goldblum Pokes Fun At His “Fossilized” High School Yearbook Photo: “I Turned 38 Years Old”

Where to Stream:

Jimmy Kimmel Live

Powered by Reelgood

Jeff Goldblum has been lending his eccentric and hilarious sense of humor to Jimmy Kimmel Live this week, where the Kaos star will be guest hosting amid Jimmy Kimmel‘s continued absence.

Though his opening monologues have been notably missing Kimmel’s signature Donald Trump jokes, Goldblum has been reflecting on his own life and career on the show.

During Tuesday’s (Aug. 13) broadcast, Goldblum shared a photo from his high school yearbook with the Kimmel audience. “You wanna see an old class photo of me? Get ready, gird yourself, watch this,” he warned them.

The photo was met with cheers from the audience. “I know, I know. That’s actually my high school yearbook picture from back in Pittsburg, Pennsylvania,” he explained, before adding, “Nice hair. In this picture, it was before high school graduation and I turned 38 years old. I already fossilized, not much promise there.”

Goldblum then joked, “My teachers, I called them by their first name, and you know what they called me? Mr. Goldblum.”

“My goose was cooked already,” he said with a laugh.

Jeff Goldblum
Photo: ABC

He then shared a photo of Kimmel’s sidekick, Guillermo Rodriguez, from back when he was young. Rodriguez explained that the photo showed him selling counterfeit Scorpion t-shirts outside of a concert so he could buy beer and get tickets.

Goldblum has been having a successful run on Kimmel this week. So far, he’s been joined by Jon Cena and Mark Wahlberg.

He also got a chance to look back on the 2024 Olympics, which recently wrapped. The Summer Games gave Goldblum some ideas of which sports he could compete in when the Olympics come to Los Angeles in 2028.

There was one event he knew he definitely wouldn’t be able to do, however. “I’m not gonna do the pole vaulting,” he joked. “You know why. I can’t, I cant.” He threw up his hands as he said, “I can’t. Some people are just built for that.”

Goldblum is, of course, referencing the French Olympic athlete Anthony Ammirati whose “bulge” cost him the gold medal at the 2024 Paris Olympics.

Jimmy Kimmel Live airs on weeknights at 11:35/10:35c on ABC. Check out last night’s monologue above.