‘Today’s Jenna Bush Hager Complains She “Wasn’t Really Boy Material” When She Was Younger: “I Dreamed About Having A Romance”

The upcoming comedy Summer Camp, starring Diane Keaton and Eugene Levy, certainly stirred up some feelings for Today co-hosts Hoda Kotb and Jenna Bush Hager.

The summer comedy follows a group of childhood friends who return to the woods for a summer camp reunion, only to run into the rivals — and crushes — of their pasts.

The heat between Keaton and Levy in the trailer prompted Bush Hager to ask Kotb about her love life, as she always does. “Did you have a boyfriend when you went to camp?” she asked Kotb.

Kotb admitted that she did, and even went so far as to name-drop him on national television, much to Bush Hager’s shock. She admitted that they ran into each other at her high school reunion.

Bush Hager began teasing her co-host as she jokingly asked, “Did he kind of look longingly into your eyes? He was like, ‘Hey Hoda, remember when we used to dance in the tennis courts.'”

But she complained that she did not have as much romance in her life at that age. “I loved going to summer camp but I wasn’t really boy material back then,” she said. “Boys weren’t into me.”

She continued, “I was cute but I dreamed about having a romance at the camp but it never actually happened.” They then shared a photo from her summer camp days, to which Bush Hager said, “Oh see, do you see what I’m saying? They showed a picture and they understand why I wasn’t [boy material].”

Hoda Kotb and Jenna Bush Hager
Photo: NBC

While discussing “childhood wounds” with Kotb on a previous broadcast of the show, Bush Hager named one instance from her own past that could give anyone social anxiety.

“Being the chubby little kid that none of the boys wanted to ask for dances. Does that resonate? It resonates with me,” she said.

She later added, “I don’t know if this is something I told myself, but I feel like the kids that weren’t as cute when they were little had to have great personalities.”

But she can look on the bright side, now. Those embarrassing moments from her childhood helped her build a sense of humor: “That, in turn, made me funny!” she said. “If I was the cutest little girl, I might have been in pageants! Who knows?” 

Kotb could sense where she was going with this. “What would have happened to your personality?” she wondered with a laugh.

Today with Hoda and Jenna airs on weekdays at 10/9c on NBC.