Ross Mathews Scolds Drew Barrymore For Wearing Sweatpants On Dates: “No!”

Where to Stream:

The Drew Barrymore Show

Powered by Reelgood

Leave it to Drew Barrymore to wear sweatpants on a date. On this morning’s episode of The Drew Barrymore Show, Drew’s News co-host Ross Mathews scolded Barrymore after she admitted her typical date fashion.

The talk show host made the revelation after saying she’s the “exact opposite” of country music legend Dolly Parton, who wears makeup to bed because she “doesn’t want to look like a hag” when she wakes up next to her husband.

“I’m the exact opposite,” Barrymore said. “I’d love for you to know the hag I am right out of the gate so there is no mystery about it whatsoever.”

The actress then revealed the one unusual thing she does on dates that her friends can’t get behind.

“In fact, all my friends get on my case because I wear my sweatpants on a date,” she said. “They’re like, ‘Dude, put some effort and shop.’ I’m like, ‘No, I want to be me.’”

Barrymore continued, “I definitely get dressed up at work, if they want to know what I look like dressed up. We’ll get dressed up at a certain point but I’d rather put my honest, truest, most authentic foot forward.”

Meanwhile, Mathews was busy giving Barrymore a disapproving look from the other end of the table.

“You can put an authentic foot forward, but you can do it out of sweats, dear,” he finally said. “You can do it in a jean. What? Am I crazy? Sweats on a date? No!”

'Drew Barrymore Show'
Photo: CBS

The 50 First Dates star has been open about her dating life on The Drew Barrymore Show. While she’s been single for eight years, she has admitted to dabbling in the online dating scene. However, it doesn’t seem like she’s had much luck as she was recently tricked into thinking she was talking to an L.A. Rams quarterback when he was actually a “musician who thought he was being cute.”

“I was like, ‘I hate you. You [are] pithy, deceiving, playful. You’ve made me feel stupid. I don’t know who you are. I feel so dumb. Why did we have to get off on this foot? I hate you!'” she said.

The Drew Barrymore Show airs on weekdays on CBS. You can check the website for local airtimes.