Christina Applegate Reveals She Experienced MS Symptoms For “Years” Until Selma Blair Recommended She Get Tested: “Could Have Been Way Worse” 

Where to Stream:

Dead To Me

Powered by Reelgood

Christina Applegate opened up about living with multiple sclerosis in a new interview with Robin Roberts on Good Morning America. The Dead to Me actress candidly spoke on the support she’s received from her peers in Hollywood, as well as her journey to receiving her diagnosis in 2021.

After Roberts asked if she was still in a period of “grieving,” Applegate confessed, “I’m never going to wake up and go, ‘This is awesome.’ I’m just going to tell you that. Like, it’s not going to happen.

“I wake up and I’m reminded of it every day,” she said, adding, “But I might get to a place where I function a little bit better.”

She added, “Right now I’m isolating, and that’s kind of how I’m dealing with it is by not going anywhere because I don’t want to do it. It’s hard.”

During the interview, Applegate revealed that she was unknowingly experiencing MS symptoms for years until her Sweetest Thing co-star Selma Blair, who was diagnosed with MS in 2018, recommended that she get tested.

“She goes, ‘You need to be checked for MS.’ I said, ‘No…’ Really? The odds? Two of us from the same movie? C’mon, that doesn’t happen,” Applegate said. “She knew. If not for her, it could have been way worse.”

She also spoke on her experience at this year’s Emmys, where she received a standing ovation.

“People said, ‘Oh you were so funny,’ and I’m like, ‘I don’t even know what I said,’” Applegate said. “I don’t know what I was doing. I got so freaked out that I didn’t even know what was happening anymore. And I felt really beloved, and it was a beautiful thing.”

Applegate was also joined on GMA by another good friend of hers, The Sopranos star Jamie-Lynn Sigler. Sigler has been living with MS since she was 20 years old.

The actresses connected after Applegate received her diagnosis, sparking a years-long friendship that has now inspired them to start a podcast about their experience with the condition.

MeSsy, which premieres March 19, will feature celebrity interviews with special guests such as Martin Short and Edie Falco.