Jenna Bush Hager Says Blake Lively Needs To “Get Out More” Without Her Kids: “She’s Making Some Of Us Feel Terrible About Ourselves”

Hoda Kotb and Jenna Bush Hager had some strong opinions to share on Today after Blake Lively revealed that she left her kids “for the first time ever” to attend the Super Bowl with Taylor Swift earlier this month.

The co-hosts discussed a recent social media post from the actress in which she recounted that fateful evening, writing, “Last week I left my kids for the first time ever and wore pants that were shoes… And I went clubbing. Now I know what my episode of the Twilight Zone would look like.”

After reading the caption aloud on Today, Kotb said, “Wait, pause. What?!” She and Bush Hager appeared shocked that this was Lively’s alleged “first time ever” leaving her kids for a night out.

“I know. She’s making some of us feel terrible about ourselves,” Bush Hager added. “Blake, you’ve got to get out more! You’ve got to get out more!”

When Kotb asked how old Lively’s kids were, Bush Hager replied, “I don’t know, but she’s got a lot of ’em. So, that means they span over a time.”

Someone from behind the camera clarified that Lively shares four kids with her husband — actor Ryan Reynolds — and the oldest is nine years old.

“So in nine years? Oh my god,” Kotb commented, clearly shocked.

Hoda Kotb and Jenna Bush Hager shocked
Photo: NBC

The information spurred a rather guilty confession from Bush Hager, who admitted, “I went off to the [London] Olympics when Mila was one year old – less than one years old.”

Kotb replied, “Yeah, well sometimes that’s how it is. I did the same and when I came back, I thought, ‘Is she gonna remember me?’ And she did.”

But the conclusion of Bush Hager’s story was not as pleasant. “Mila reached for Henry, it was a slap in the face,” she said.

Both co-hosts agreed that Lively “deserved” a “kid-free night” every once in a while. “Blake, you gotta get out more,” Bush Hager announced one last time for good measure.

Today with Jenna and Hoda airs on weekdays at 10/9c on NBC.