Drew Barrymore Recalls Tripping During Her Interview With Johnny Carson At Only 7 Years Old: “I Ate It”

Where to Stream:

The Drew Barrymore Show

Powered by Reelgood

It’s been more than 40 years since Drew Barrymore took a tumble while walking on stage for her Tonight Show debut — and the beloved star still can’t live it down.

On this morning’s episode of The Drew Barrymore Show, actress Anne Hathaway reminded the host of the interview she did with Johnny Carson when she was only seven years old.

“I remember it very well,” Barrymore said. “I tripped when I walked out, too, which really humbled me. Because I was already, like, seven years old. [It was] 1982, The Tonight Show, and I walked up to the thing and I ate it.”

Hathaway let out a giggle, before telling Barrymore, “Sorry, I’m laughing because I’m like, yes you have YouTube to prove it. I wasn’t laughing at the idea of a seven-year-old eating it on The Tonight Show.

While looking back on the iconic interview, Hathaway praised the 50 First Dates star for how far she has come since that moment.

“I was just marveling at you. You’re so quick on your feet at seven, so authentic, so speaking from your heart and like making a genuine connection,” she said. “And then I watch you doing this and you know how proud I am of you.”

Barrymore’s national television debut came on the heels of her breakout role in Steven Spielberg‘s E.T. the Extra-Terrestrial. After Carson introduced the young actress, she walked out confidently, before slipping and landing on her hands.

“That’s a pretty funny entrance,” Carson told Barrymore, who explained that it probably happened because her new shoes were “real slippery.”

Barrymore previously looked back at the embarrassing moment while appearing on Late Night with Seth Meyers.

“That was a good moment in that it never can get worse than that,” she joked, per Showbiz CheatSheet. “You can’t … eat it in your first time out on national television and not go, ‘Well, you know what? Only up from here.'”

The Drew Barrymore Show airs on weekdays on CBS. You can check the website for local airtimes.