Mark Consuelos’ Curiosity Is Piqued After Kelly Ripa Opens Up About Her Annual Mammogram On ‘Live’: “Is It As Uncomfortable As For The Guys When They Ask Us To Cough?”

Where to Stream:

Live with Kelly and Mark

Powered by Reelgood

Kelly Ripa and Mark Consuelos got medical on this morning’s episode of Live with Kelly and Mark after Ripa revealed that she received her annual mammogram.

“Now, if you want to see something that should be a televised special…” she quipped.

As she began to share more, she pointed out that since Consuelos became her co-host, there have been “a lot more men in the audience.”

“When did we become so welcoming to men all of a sudden?” she joked.

However, Consuelos noted that “some of the guys” were likely there “against their will,” but Ripa said that’s just how she likes it.

“Don’t get too comfortable,” she joked. “This is what you’re gonna hear now.”

She then proceeded to explain how she thinks “all mammograms are unpleasant,” which piqued Consuelos’ curiosity.

“Is it as uncomfortable as for the guys when they ask us to cough?” he asked, referring to the intimate test for hernias.

“Cause that’s really uncomfortable! I’m very uncomfortable with that,” he continued, as he pretended to cough. “Warm up your hands, Doc!”

Kelly Ripa and Mark Consuelos on 'Live with Kelly and Mark'
Photo: ABC

Ripa brushed off Consuelos’ comment as “child’s play,” and returned to her anecdote.

“But, when you are — and I say this with pride — a flat-chested lady, mammogram takes on a new dimension,” she said, which Consuelos called, “a gram.”

Ripa recalled, “At a certain point she said to me, ‘lift your head,’ and I said, ‘I can’t, my neck skin is in the machine.'” She explained that the technician has “gotta find the skin somehow.”

“You gotta put something in there!” she added. “At a certain point, I believe half of my abdomen, a quarter of my neck, and definitely my back was in there!”

Consuelos commended Ripa for receiving a mammogram, saying that “it’s so important that [she] did that,” earning him a round of applause.

Ripa then brought up how Live EP Michael Gelman noted how men can also get breast cancer, and wondered if men would also have to get mammograms.

“But I suspect, there’s an easier way for them,” she chided. “Probably involves a massage chair.”

Consuelos complimented her once again for receiving a mammogram and told her to “keep doing it.” He even offered to go with her next time, which Ripa quickly denied.

“I don’t think you can handle it and I don’t need you to make this about you, too,” she replied.

Consuelos said he’d like her company for a prostate exam, which riled Ripa up.

“Honey, I don’t know why you think that women don’t also —,” she began, as Consuelos interjected, “Have a prostate?”

“I’m pretty sure you don’t,” he added. Ripa clarified that she doesn’t understand how he doesn’t think women also “have exams that are penetrative in some way.”

As Consuelos jokingly welcomed the out-of-towners in the audience back again, Ripa said, “You bring the men in, and I chase them right out!”

Live with Kelly and Mark airs on weekdays. Check out their website for your local listings.