‘Real Housewives Of Potomac’ Star Gizelle Bryant On Robyn Dixon’s Martial Issues: “She’s The Epitome Of Family Over Everything”

Where to Stream:

The Real Housewives of Potomac

Powered by Reelgood

Real Housewives Of Potomac returned for its 8th season tonight, and Bravo fans are already salivating over the drama to come. At the center of it all is Gizelle Bryant, one of four OG Potomac Housewives, who is still thriving as she enters two new phases in her life: (partial) empty nester and cougar. This season, fans will get to watch Bryant as she prepares for her oldest daughter Grace to leave for college and comes to terms with the fact that her twins, Angel and Adore, will soon follow suit. Luckily for her (and us!), her new “man-friend,” Winter House alum Jason Cameron, is helping to keep her happy and occupied. “He’s like a breath of fresh air in my life,” Bryant gushed.

In the midst of this busy time of transition in her life, Bryant still finds the time to support her fellow castmates. Bryant has stood by and supported her bestie, Reasonably Shady podcast co-host Robyn Dixon, as Robyn navigates another trying time in her marriage to husband Juan Dixon. “She hasn’t handled their relationship the way I would handle it,” said Bryant. “But Robyn and I are two different people.” Bryant is also on-call to castmates Ashley Darby and Mia Thronton, who are both in the process of ending their marriages. While Bryant has a lot of great friendships in her life—and that includes on-again/off-again pal Karen Huger—she doesn’t miss the relationship she once had with Candiace Dillard Bassett. Still, Bryant admits she’s still protecting Dillard Bassett when it comes to an incident backstage at the Season 6 reunion when Dillard Bassett’s husband made her feel uncomfortable. “I still have not said to anyone what he said to me in that room out of respect for Candiace,” Bryant said.

Bryant stopped by the Decider offices (before BravoCon if you can believe it) to talk about the season premiere, an emotional conversation between old friends, and where she currently stands with all the woman.

DECIDER: Usually, a tagline reflects a Housewife’s journey for the season, and I’m obsessed with yours. Where are you with your girls this season?

GIZELLE BRYANT: We are doing great. Grace is in her first year at college and she’s thriving. She’s living her best life. I keep telling her, “You do have to go to class, honey.” The twins are now sending out all their applications to get into college. So, they’re fine. Me on the other hand, not so much.

People usually clock you for not being “vulnerable” enough, but you’re already starting to open up about your daughter Grace leaving for college. How are you and the twins navigating the house without her?

It’s a different dynamic at the house without Grace. She was our glue, and she kept us in line. She’s also very funny. Right now, I’m on the twins’ nerves. They have actually told me, “Calm down.” Because everything we do, I’m like, “This is the last time we’re going to do this.” Everything. Anytime they have a free moment, I’m planning a vacation. I’m booking them to go to plays with me, concerts with me. They literally told me, “Stop it.” They’re like, “Mom, you’re stressing us out.”

Both Grace and Angel popped up in the first episode. I loved seeing Angel giving Jason crap in the kitchen. Is he in your kitchen often?

He gets to my kitchen as often as he can, yes. I more come to New York than he comes down, just by virtue of work and everything else. But yeah, Jason’s like a breath of fresh air in my life.

Both of your daughters were playing it cool, but you can tell they both really like Jason. How’s it been having him around your girls?

[laughs] At first, Grace was like, “Who is this guy?” I mean, who doesn’t love Jason? He’s such a great guy. Ultimately, they want to see me happy. They’re very concerned about me next year, just being in the house by myself. They really want me to find happiness without them around constantly. It is a relief that they like him, because if they didn’t, that would be bad. Like him rolling up sushi, that’d be bad.

Now that we’ve talked about Jason, let’s get into your relationships with the women this season. We’re seeing Ashley as a single mom in her new house this season. Did she come to you for any advice during her divorce from Michael and navigating this new parenting chapter?

Yes. Throughout all of it. She says that she now understands things that I’ve told her in the past about myself. She understands I’m not in a rush to get married again. Marriage is work. It’s a bit of a compromise. If you are a strong, independent woman with your own money, then the compromise becomes even tougher , especially if you’re with a man who is extremely powerful and controlling. She understands she needs to take time and focus on her kids. Ashley’s smart and she’s strong. She’s still not divorced yet, but she’ll get there.

Speaking of divorce, we’ve all seen the news that Gordon announced that he and Mia are separated, which is really sad. How are you supporting her through this difficult time?

I was shocked that Gordon decided to tell the world himself. Mia has her own platform, so I don’t understand why he wouldn’t allow her to share the news in her own words when they were both ready. I just didn’t understand why he decided to jump her with the information. I didn’t like it. I didn’t like that he was almost trying to paint her as a gold digger, intimating that when he lost money, she was gone. Well, that’s pretty much what happened [laughs], but I didn’t like that he was painting her as that. I would just rather that he allow Mia to tell her own story.

Speaking of things we don’t understand, I don’t understand that, despite all you’ve been through together and the countless times you’ve had her back, Candiace can’t move past your expressing your feelings about the backstage incident with Chris Bassett when you felt uncomfortable. Do you miss that friendship?

No. Not by any means. I expressed my feelings about her husband’s completely inappropriate behavior. I still have not said to anyone what he said to me in that room out of respect for Candiace. She doesn’t even realize that. However, it takes a mature woman to realize that, hey, your girlfriend’s trying to tell you something because you need to know. With what has transpired on social lately about her husband, she should have listened to me.

Candiace recently sent a pointed tweet about you and Robyn regarding a recent podcast conversation about Chris’ alleged infidelity. You chose not to bring that up on the show. Are you just numb to the noise at this point?

I’m not numb to it; I just don’t care. I’m not on Twitter, so I don’t even know half of the nonsense that she spews. She’s actually talking to herself. What’s unfortunate is that she and Robyn had a really close friendship, and Robyn has done absolutely nothing to this woman. If your husband cheats on you and you blame it on girlfriends that have nothing to do with it, that’s a little sad.

Since you mentioned Robyn… the drama surrounding Robyn’s and Juan’s marriage takes center stage in the season premiere. How do you handle wanting to protect your friend, but also wanting to give her a wakeup call at the same time?

I was very direct. My focus is always going to be on my friend. It’s going to be on Robyn. I want to make sure that she’s living her best life outside of him. She hasn’t handled their relationship the way I would handle it. But Robyn and I are two different people and we don’t handle anything the same. I felt like, okay, I’m going to be very honest and direct with her, and then after that, all I can do is support her. Robyn is the epitome of family over everything, and I get that. So who am I to say it’s wrong? I’m not being a friend if I’m not supporting the decisions that she has made about her family. So that’s all I can do.

The gathering between you, Robyn, Charrisse and Ashley at your home seemed to be successful. Were you surprised at how emotional Charisse became?

The reason why I included Charrisse was that I know Charrisse has been through the same thing. So has Ashley. I know Charrisse loves Robyn. If you remember, Charrisse introduced me and Robyn. I knew they’re coming from a place of love. I was surprised by Charrisse. I thought she was totally past everything. I never expected her to still be in a place of pain when it comes to her ex-husband. So yeah, I was very much shocked by that.

How are you with Juan now?

I see Juan all the time and we’re fine. Juan knows if I come on the show and don’t say anything about what’s happening, then I’m not being true to who I am as a person.

I know he doesn’t love being on camera, but I like that he and Robyn allowed production to capture this incredibly candid conversation between them.

Well, I love the fact that he owned it. He was like, “Yeah, I did something dumb.” I appreciated that. I can say currently they’re in a much better place. Much better.

Switching gears, I do want to ask you about new housewife Nneka Ihim. She’s not in the season premiere, but she looks like she’s going to shake things up. What were your first impressions of her?

I liked her from the beginning. She’s a Virgo. I’m a Virgo. I understand Virgo energy, and I appreciate it. She stands her ground; she’s comfortable in her own skin. She is smart. I think she’s a great addition.

From the trailer, we see her and Dr. Wendy Osefo (who I know isn’t your favorite) get into a bit of drama…

Their issue started before Nneka came on the show. Nneka will run the timeline down for you guys, so you will get all that information. Even though I don’t necessarily get along with Wendy, I don’t care who else gets along with her. Not at all. But people see Wendy for who she is.

I couldn’t close out this interview without asking you about Karen. I know people love to say you’re Bravo’s best “frenemies” but…

You don’t see the “enemies” part.

No, I don’t. I see two longtime friends who sometimes don’t see eye to eye who can give each other shade and not take it too seriously.

Yes, and more people should take note. Karen is great. We do have a good season. I do a couple things just to make her mad. I tell her, “Yeah, I’m just doing this for you.” She falls right into it. She gets so angry. I’m like, Karen—prove me wrong. But it’s fun. Sparring and going back and forth with Karen is fun. She loves it. I love it.

The Real Housewives Of Potomac airs Sunday nights at 8/7c on Bravo