Where Is ‘DWTS’ Pro Artem Chigvintsev? Why Charity Lawson’s Dance Partner Is Missing Tonight

Where to Stream:

Dancing With the Stars

Powered by Reelgood

Charity Lawson will be dancing with a new partner on tonight’s episode of Dancing With The Stars.

Her partner, Artem Chigvintsev, announced he has tested positive for COVID-19 and will not be able to perform. He will instead be replaced by dancer Ezra Sosa, per Deadline.

“Unfortunately, I will not be performing on Dancing With The Stars because I have tested positive for covid,” he shared in a post on social media. “But the good news is Charity is still performing, she is performing with an amazing guy Ezra, they’re doing an incredible job and they’re working really, really hard.”

He also urged his followers to still vote for Charity and Ezra. “Show them all the support you can and don’t forget to vote,” he said. “I’ll see you soon.”

Chigvintsev will unfortunately be missing out on Latin Night, which is his specialty. But Lawson and Sosa are optimistic about their performance for tonight.

“What a week it’s been, but @theartemc has been the best through it all. I’m so grateful for @ezra.sosa and SO EXCITED to dance with him,” Lawson wrote in a post to her Instagram story.

Sousa also shared the news to his social media.

“Some bad and good news for you today…,” he wrote on his Instagram story. “As exciting as I am for this opportunity I know the situation is a tough one for my partner, gonna be there with you every step of the way Charity and gonna do my best to make Artem proud!!!”

Lawson and Chigvintsev earned the highest score on premiere night with their tango, which earned the former Bachelorette high praise from the judges for their “stellar performances.”

Ahead of the latest season, Lawson gushed over having Chigvintsev as her partner, telling Us Weekly she “literally screamed” when she got the news.

“I was like, ‘No way this is who I got.’ Obviously, I’ve watched the show, so I know Artem is truly one of the best,” she said. “I’m so grateful because he’s been amazing.”

Dancing with the Stars airs on Tuesday nights at 8/7c on ABC and Disney+.