New ‘RHONY’ Star Jenna Lyons Reveals She Uses “Fake” Hair and Teeth Due to a Genetic Disorder on ‘The View’: “I Paid a Lot of Money for Them”

Where to Stream:

The View

Powered by Reelgood

The Real Housewives of New York City star Jenna Lyons opened up about her genetic disorder during a recent appearance on The View.

The former fashion exec spoke candidly about how she’s dealt with incontinentia pigmenti, also known as Bloch-Sulzberger syndrome, throughout her life.

“All of my teeth are fake,” she said, per The Daily Mail. “They look good, I know. I paid a lot of money for them.”

She continued, “My hair is also fake. I can take it off. It’s like a hat. It’s not a wig.”

Lyons explained that she also has no eyebrows and “scars all over” her body. She also uses false eyelashes.

The Real Housewives newcomer said her lifelong struggle with the disorder is what inspired her to pursue her successful career in fashion and later begin her own line of false eyelashes, called LoveSeen. Lyons made her name at J.Crew, where she worked her way up since the age of 21 to becoming the president of the company from 2010 to 2017.

“I was really conscious,” she explained. “It’s one of the reasons I went into fashion because I wanted to look better, I was constantly trying to find ways to fit in.”

Jenna Lyons on 'The View'
Photo: ABC

Finding false eyelashes that “looked good” became a major struggle for Lyons when she began attending more red carpets and making public appearances, she said.

“I remember talking to my makeup artist Troi Ollivierre and I was going on the Oprah show actually and Oprah walked into the green room,” she recalled. “He looked at me and he looked at her and he’s like, ‘Get back in that chair. We’re gonna put some lashes on you and get some extensions. Because she’s got presence and I look like a wet rat.”

She said her struggle with finding false lashes that fit her style inspired her to create LoveSeen, a line of cruelty-free and environmentally friendly false eyelashes, which she promoted on the show.

Lyons is part of the entirely new cast that has joined the RHONY reboot for Season 14. She is also the first openly gay Housewife to star in the franchise.

The fashion executive can be seen in The Real Housewives of New York, which airs Sundays at 9/8c on Bravo.

The View airs weekdays at 11/10c on ABC.