‘The View’: Meghan Trainor Says Medical Professionals Blamed Her Antidepressant Usage for Son’s Health Troubles: “Don’t Let Them Bully You”

Where to Stream:

The View

Powered by Reelgood

Meghan Trainor visited The View to discuss the upcoming release of her debut book, Dear Future Mama: A TMI Guide to Pregnancy, Birth, and Motherhood from Your Bestie, and recalled a story from the “traumatic” birth of her first child. 

At the top of the segment, the “All About That Bass” singer revealed that she’s expecting another boy and jokingly complained about living in a “house of boys.”

The conversation took a turn when co-host Sara Haines referenced an “important” incident that Trainor opens up about in her book. 

“You opened about your mental health journey through your first pregnancy, recalling how you felt like medical professionals blamed you for your son’s health problems shortly after his birth,” Haines said. “Tell us a little more about that.”

Trainor began to tell a story about how medical professionals blamed her usage of antidepressants for her son’s health condition after birth, despite being cleared to use the medication during her pregnancy. 

“Six years ago, I started antidepressants because I was having panic disorder where I felt fine, but my body was crumbling on me and I was like, ‘I think I’m dying,'” Trainor explained. The singer checked with her psychiatrist before getting pregnant to ensure the medication she was taking was safe, and ended up being prescribed an alternative.

“Throughout my pregnancy, everything was great. I had no depression even though I was lonely. I was great. I didn’t even have postpartum depression,” she said. 

However, Tranior recalled having a difficult birth. She said, “When I had my C section, my boy came out with no cry, and I was like, ‘Where’s that cry?’ He went right to the NICU.” Trainor recalled being told that her baby was “asleep” and having “breathing problems,” but later, she claimed that the medical professionals didn’t “have a word” for what was occurring.

“The NICU nurses, the doctors, a pediatricians were all on different pages,” she said. 

Trainor continued, “Some nurses were like, ‘Oh, like, I’ve got his chart and it said: Mom, 27 antidepressants,’ and that’s it. I was like, ‘Nah, I checked with everyone, this is safe.'” She said the doctor who did her surgery claimed that “no science proves that yet,” so her antidepressant usage couldn’t be ruled out.

When it came to having a second baby, Trainor said, “I was so rattled in my head. I was like, ‘I should get off of them, right?’ And everyone’s like, ‘No, don’t let them bully you off of this. If you’re a happy mom, then you have a happy baby.’ And he’s perfect. He’s fine.”

Trainor continued, “They were like, ‘C sections are traumatic for mom and baby.’ The baby probably came out and was like ‘What’s up?'” She stated that her baby eventually “woke up” after five days. 

Haines related to her story, saying that she went through a similar issue. The co-host stated that “there’s already guilt, and shame, and fear,” associated with the medication.  She told Trainor, “I stupidly came off medicine without asking and then I went into a full depression. I love that you are a step ahead.”

Trainor responded, “I don’t know how I would have been if I didn’t have that,” to which Haines said, “Well, I can play videos for you.”

Whoopi Goldberg chimed in, saying, “The craziest thing is, having a baby is something women do every day, yet people don’t understand that each woman’s pregnancy is different.” She continued, “We forget that everybody needs help with this.”

The View airs weekdays at 11/10c on ABC.