‘Below Deck’s Captain Lee Vows to “Come Back and Finish What I Started”

Captain Lee is turning his ship around and heading back to Below Deck after announcing his exit from the Bravo series. The reality star will return to the show later this season after leaving due to health issues, it was revealed on Monday’s (Dec. 19) episode.

While Lee took some time off to fix the nerve damage that was causing him mobility issues, he assured the crew that they hadn’t seen the last of him. In a speech to Fraser Olender, Ross McHarg, Hayley De Sola Pinto, Rachel Hargrove, Alissa Humber, Camille Lamb, Luis Antonio “Tony” Duarte, Katie Glaser and Ben Willoughby, Lee said he needed to quit, per Bravo.

Still, he added that the “plane ticket home” he bought is “round trip,” adding, “I’m gonna go back to the States, get this straightened out, and as soon as I do, I’ll be on the first plane back here and tell whoever’s on board to get the f–k off my boat.”

The captain explained in a confessional that he felt like “a liability” to the crew, adding, “That cuts me right to my core. It’s brutal. I’m big on always doing the right thing, no matter how difficult it is. That’s what I preach to the crew. If I’m not going to do it myself, I don’t have any right to say that to somebody else.”

Thankfully, Lee won’t be gone long. He promised fans, “I will put in the work. I will deal with the pain. I am going to come back and finish what I started.”

In an interview with People, Lee explained that he underwent physical therapy to help with his nerve issues, sometimes receiving treatment six days a week.

“There were times when I would get discouraged,” he told People. “I’m like everybody else, I guess. We’re so used to instant gratification. We want to see progress immediately. And with nerve damage, it just doesn’t happen that way. So I’d get frustrated. Other people would see a difference in my progress but it wouldn’t seem like anything to me because I wanted to see leaps and bounds instead of baby steps. But we got there.”

Below Deck airs Mondays at 8/7c on Bravo and streams the next day on Peacock.