“What Are Meese?”: ‘Jeopardy!’ Fans React to One Contestant’s Hilarious Wrong Answer

Jeopardy! fans had a good laugh during Tuesday night’s (Oct. 26) episode when law student Jack Weller made a hilarious oopsie. The contestant was returning to the show for the Second Chance Tournament after losing in a tiebreaker last season, something host Ken Jennings remembered as “very exciting.”

When the category “Plurals That Don’t End in S” was chosen and the clue was “Moose,” Weller confidently answered with “What are meese?” While the plural of goose is geese, the same rule does not apply to moose, which remains the same in its plural form. Even Jennings chuckled as he said, “No. No, Jack.” Despite his flub, the player was still able to advance to the semifinal round.

This doesn’t seem to be an uncommon mistake as Weller quickly became a fan favorite on Twitter. People flocked to the social media platform to praise the contestant for his “relatable” error.

‘”What are meese?’ as the plural of moose is the most relatable wrong #Jeopardy answer I’ve ever heard,” one wrote.

Another commented, “My fellow jeopardy-watching friend isn’t here tonight and I am upset that we can’t have made this more hilarious as I’ve been insisting the plural of Moose is Meese all week.”

“WHAT ARE MEESE OMG,” a third person announced. “Best wrong answer since ‘What is a hoe?'”

Someone else said, “If meese is not trending right now, Twitter has let me down. Peak relatable #Jeopardy.”

“Can’t put into words how happy I am that I decided to watch tonight’s #Jeopardy episode before heading to bed. #MEESE,” another wrote, while one fan posted, “Jack you can win this whole Jeopardy tournament but you still said the plural of moose was meese and that’ll never go away.”

“…I doubt I have ever laughed as hard at a #Jeopardy response as I did at the guy who just earnestly answered ‘meese’ for the plural of ‘moose’ (I was halfway through yelling ‘don’t say meese’ at the tv),” another chimed in.

Someone else wrote, “A guy on #Jeopardy just guessed that the plural of moose was “#Meese” and I am totally here for it. He should get extra points for that.”

Jeopardy! airs on weeknights at 7/6c on ABC.