Quinta Brunson Laughs Off Jimmy Kimmel’s Disrespectful Emmys Bit: “I Might Punch Him In The Face”

Following the Emmys, there’s no bad blood between Quinta Brunson and Jimmy Kimmel. But the Abbott Elementary creator said that might change come Wednesday.

At Monday’s 74th Primetime Emmy Awards, Kimmel came under fire for committing a little too hard to a bit and awkwardly remaining on the floor of the Emmys stage while first-time winner Brunson accepted her award for Outstanding Writing on Abbott Elementary.

Prior to Brunson’s win, Will Arnett dragged a seemingly lifeless Kimmel out by his feet and joked he was passed out drunk after losing in his category. But rather than retire the bit after the award was presented, Kimmel remained on the ground at Brunson’s feet for her speech.

Kimmel’s choice was criticized on social media as obnoxious, infuriating “asshole behavior.” Fans of Brunson argued that the stunt took away from her big moment, but when asked about the bit after her win, Brunson had kind words to say about Kimmel and Arnett.

EMMYS QUINTA BRUNSON JIMMY KIMMEL

In a video shared by Variety, Brunson laughs off Kimmel’s bit and explains, “I don’t know. I don’t really — I know Jimmy Kimmel and…I felt like the bit didn’t bother me that much. I don’t know what the internet thinks.”

Brunson went on to share that Kimmel gave her her first big late night spot and was one of Abbott Elementary‘s first fans. “I think in that moment I was just really happy that it Jimmy up there,” she said. “I kind of consider him one of the comedy godfathers. I’m a huge fan of Will Arnett. So I was wrapped up in the moment.”

“I don’t know. Tomorrow maybe I’ll be mad at him. I’m going to be on his show on Wednesday, so I might punch him in the face. I don’t know, we’ll see what happens,” Brunson concluded.

Despite the on-stage drama, Brunson had a lot to celebrate last night. Abbott Elementary received seven Emmy nominations and took home three awards, including her Outstanding Writing for a Comedy Series award, Outstanding Casting for a Comedy Series, and Sheryl Lee Ralph’s Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Comedy Series.

Kimmel has yet to comment on the Emmys controversy, but like Brunson said, they’ll likely hash it out when she visits his show on Wednesday. Stay tuned!