Chace Crawford Reacts to Rachel Bilson’s Confession of Battling to “Cock Block” Friend for His Attention

There’s nothing like a little friendly competition — at least for The O.C. actress Rachel Bilson, who “silently” battled with her friend over the attention of one of the best-looking dudes of the early aughts, Chace Crawford.

In the latest episode of her podcast, Broad IdeasBilson brought on the Gossip Girl alum to talk all things early 2000s. She even admitted to the actor that when a group of them were at New York City’s Boom Boom Room one night over a decade ago, she was trying to “cock block” her friend for his attention.

“There was a time in my life where I was on a break from my boyfriend at the time, and my friend, Nicole, was on a break in her relationship and we were all in New York together and, like, we were all hanging out and stuff,” she began. “And Nicole and I, like, silently to ourselves, were, like, battling for Chace’s attention.”

She added, “I’m, like, trying to cock block her and she’s trying to, like, cock block me,” before going on to tell her longtime friend, “We were totally, for sure, in competition for you.”

In response, Crawford, the humble lad he is, said, “That’s hilarious. I did not pick up on any of that,” though he added what he did remember from that night: the “great cheeseburgers.”

Despite her small crush on the The Boys actor, Bilson admitted she was quick to shut down rumors that the two had hooked up years ago, telling Crawford that she felt bad about the way her publicist killed the story.

“They printed it, but it had a quote from my publicist, like, ‘This is completely fabricated,’ and I’m like, ‘Wait that is so mean. I would never want to do that to Chace!'” to which Crawford said, “You are so nice. I didn’t even realize this all went down. I would have been thrilled if they thought we were dating!”