Mayim Bialik Would Love To Be The First Woman To Host ‘Jeopardy’ Full Time

Will Jeopardy! ever commit to one full-time host again? Now in its 38th season, the show currently splits hosting duties between former Jeopardy! champion Ken Jennings and actress Mayim Bialik. If Bialik had her way, she says she would “love” to host the show full-time. “I would love that,” she told PEOPLE. “I like to say, I’ve lived season to season, since I was about 13 years old. So, what I know is I’m hosting until May 6, and beyond that, hopefully, I’ll know more before May 6.”

Bialik added that to be able to take on hosting duties as a woman and the descendant of Jewish immigrants would be especially sweet. “I think being a female is its own mark. My grandparents were immigrants to this country, and escaped pograms, and World War II, so for me in two generations, be in a position to be a woman and a host in that iconic role, blows my mind,” she said, echoing comments she made in an Instagram video she posted after she was announced as a guest host last year.

Jennings and Bialik were announced as hosts after the departure of show producer Mike Richards, whose tenure last year as Alex Trebek’s full-time replacement host was short-lived.

Bialik is not without her detractors and controversies, however. Despite the fact that the shows ratings actually increased when she began her hosting duties, some fans recently took issue with the differences between the ways that she and Jennings were introduced onstage at the beginning of the show. Bialik has also publicly discussed her controversial past stances on vaccination, birth control, and sexual harassment and assault victims, many of which she has since apologized for.

We, like Bialik herself, look forward to seeing what’s going to happen in season 39 and beyond.

Where to watch Jeopardy!