Is Leighton Meester in ‘How I Met Your Father’?

Two shows with absolutely iconic intros have collided. We’re talking about How I Met Your Father and Gossip Girl, of course! A beloved Gossip Girl — the original, not the 2021 reboot — star has just landed a part in the new Hulu comedy series. But is she sticking around for good? We have everything you need to know about the casting news behind one of TV’s biggest new comedies.

Fans may have seen Leighton Meester gracing their screens in the pilot of How I Met Your Father, which has also introduced Kim Cattrall as the narrator voice of an older Hilary Duff. So many TV worlds are colliding already! With new episodes dropping weekly, audiences may be wondering if we can expect to see more of Meester or if it was just a short cameo.

Will Blair Waldorf meet Lizzie McGuire in How I Met Your Father? Let’s investigate.

Is Leighton Meester in How I Met Your Father?

Yes! Meester stars as Meredith, an ex-girlfriend of Chris Lowell’s Jesse. Blink and you’ll miss her cameo, though: she’s just in the #ProposalFail video see in in Episode 1. Jesse explains that Meredith was the only woman he ever loved, and she rejected him. Now, she’s in Europe recording her first solo album. Does that mean Meester is gone for good?

Will Leighton Meester be in future episodes of How I Met Your Father?

Even though she’s “in Europe,” Meredith will return. Meester is in the show as a recurring character, she we can expect to see her back sometime soon. Additional details, including when her character might resurface, are being kept under wraps.

Was Leighton Meester in How I Met Your Mother?

Nope. Meester never appeared in an episode of the original series.

Who else is in the How I Met Your Father cast?

Alongside Duff, Cattrall, and Lowell, How I Met Your Father stars Francia Raisa, Tom Ainsley, Josh Peck, Suraj Sharma, and Tien Tran.

When do new episodes of How I Met Your Father come out?

New episodes of How I Met Your Father release weekly on Hulu every Tuesday. See you next week!

Stream How I Met Your Father on Hulu