Simon Cowell Calls 9-Year-Old ‘America’s Got Talent’ Star Victory Brinker The Next Carrie Underwood

Victory Brinker is coming for the America’s Got Talent crown — and the judges’ hearts. Season 16’s live quarterfinals continued on August 17, and the nine-year-old opera singer blew judges Simon Cowell, Sofia Vergara, Heidi Klum, and Howie Mandel away once again. She concluded the Tuesday live show with a stunning rendition of “Casta Diva,” earning her an unprecedented five golden buzzers from the NBC show’s judges, as well as host Terry Crews.

“It amazes me. I didn’t even know that someone your age could sing this way. I thought someone needed years and years and training and here you are doing it like it’s nothing, and the most natural thing for you,” Vergara said. “You deserve to be here.”

Meanwhile, Klum proclaimed that Brinker was “the cherry on top of an amazing night,” while Mandel gushed that she would definitely make it to the semifinals for her “amazing” abilities.

But it was Cowell who had truly glowing feedback for the rising opera star.

“I know nothing about classical music,” he said. “However, I do remember, many years ago, on another show, an artist called Carrie Underwood came on and auditioned for me, and I said, you are going to sell millions and millions of records and I was right. I’m going to make a prediction — you are going to be one of the biggest stars to emerge from one of these shows. You have a unique, special talent and I think you are incredible!”

In an interview with People later that day, Cowell said he could see Brinker becoming the new face of opera music, similar to how Underwood shook up the country music scene after winning American Idol in 2005.

“I didn’t understand a lot about country music when I first met Carrie, but you do know a star when you hear one and meet somebody,” the veteran host said. “I think same with Victory about how little I know about opera and classical music.”

“I think [Victory] is a genuine, genuine star,” Cowell continued. “I can see her making records, concerts, movies, everything. She’s got something special about her.”

America’s Got Talent airs Tuesdays on NBC at 8/7c.

Where to watch America's Got Talent