Carrie Ann Inaba Takes Temporary Leave of Absence from ‘The Talk’

Carrie Ann Inaba will be taking some time off from The Talk. The daytime TV host announced yesterday that she’ll be taking a leave of absence from the show to focus on her health, Yahoo Entertainment reports.

Inaba shared the news on Instagram, writing to her followers, “Hi Everyone, I have decided to take a leave of absence from @thetalkcbs to focus on my well being. We all know health is the most precious gift we have.”

She continued, “And I need to take care of mine. I appreciate the love and support from all of you and from my family at The Talk. I hope to be back soon! Ready for action!🙌🏻❤️🙏🏼 I’m sending you all my love. And I’ll update you on my progress… talk soon. ❤️😘”

Inaba’s cohost Sheryl Underwood also confirmed the news with The Talk audience on yesterday’s show. “Before we get started today, we’d like to let you all know at home, Carrie Ann is taking a leave of absence from the show to focus on her wellbeing,” she said. “She appreciates the support from all of her fans and her family right here at The Talk. Carrie Ann, we miss you and we look forward to having you back with us soon.”

While Inaba did not specify why she’s taking a leave from The Talk, People reports that she has been open about her health struggles over the years. Inaba has been diagnosed with spinal stenosis and Sjogren’s syndrome, and also deals with an iron deficiency and fibromyalgia flare-ups. In her Instagram message, Inaba included the hashtag #autoimmunewarrior.

This season has marked a tumultuous one for The Talk, with Inaba’s leave coming just weeks after Sharon Osbourne’s exit from the show. Last month, Osbourne left The Talk following her comments on-air in defense of Piers Morgan, who questioned Meghan Markle’s claims in her Oprah interview.

Where to watch The Talk