Jemele Hill and Kate Chastain Demonstrate The Classy Way To End a Feud on ‘Below Deck’

If you were paying close attention to the latest episode of Below Deck, you would’ve realized that you were witnessing a masterclass in beef squashing, courtesy of Jemele Hill and Kate Chastain. The two women started and ended a feud in record time (within hours!), and it’s a lesson we ALL can use on a daily basis.

Jemele and the chief stew got off on the wrong foot when she observed some “interesting service issues” in Thailand as she enjoyed her time on the yacht with her gal pals as a pre-bachelorette party. When Kate came over to see if they needed anything, Jemele said, “Promise me you will not cuss me out if I ask you something? We’re not getting on your nerves are we?”

“No, I’m sorry you feel that way!” Kate replied as Jemele explained it was all about “the energy.”

“You’re in Thailand on a yacht, look elsewhere for satisfaction besides my face,” Kate said in her interview. And as Jemele warned, “I’m about to get on your nerves, Kate,” she came back with the perfect response: “Challenge accepted.”

Later that night at the ’90s party, Jemele interrupted the music to make a statement, in every sense of the word — she made a sincere apology to Kate! “Honestly, at the beginning, I judged you prematurely, I’m sorry,” she told the chief stew.

“Are you having a great time?” Kate asked. “That’s what’s important, that’s all I want to know.” But in her interview she went on to say, “I love an apology. This season I’ve been called a bitch more times than I’ve been called Kate. But you know what, a bitch recognizes a bitch, so I feel like there’s some respect happening right now.”

The discussion continued last night when Jemele appeared on Watch What Happens Live with Chef Kevin, and explained of her initial assessment, “When we first got there, and especially now that I’ve been able to see the previous episode, the energy was off.” But when the audience was polled, 77% declared that Jemele was in fact too hard on Kate. Oh, but then there was the After Show.

Jemele’s mom called in from Detroit to tell her daughter, “You weren’t hard enough on her!” and that nobody “calls [her] a B and gets away with it.” But Jemele was quick to clear the air, saying of her current relationship with Kate, “I tweeted her tonight: we started off in a hopeless place. We wound up in a great place. I did not take it personally, I was good with it.” Women. Supporting. Women!

Below Deck airs Monday at 9pm ET/PT on Bravo.

Where to stream Below Deck