Taylor Swift Fans Speak Out At Sundance’s ‘Miss Americana’ Premiere: “I’m So Proud of Her”

The atmosphere of the world premiere of Netflix’s Taylor Swift documentary Taylor Swift: Miss Americana was nothing short of frenzied.

Fans traveled from all over to Park City, Utah to catch the film at Sundance Film Festival on Thursday night. While no one knew exactly what they were getting into, most fans did know that Miss Americana, directed by Emmy-winner Lana Wilson, would explore Swift’s foray into the world of political activism. So how do Swifties feel about their queen, once determined to stay out of the political fight, finally speaking up?

“I love it,” said Rebecca Foster, 29, who was lined up in the cold outside of Eccles Theater in Park City, two and a half hours ahead of the film’s premiere. “We call her sassy Taylor, when she gets like sassy like that. She speaks her mind. I love her new attitude of being who she wants to be and not letting anyone tell her otherwise. If you’re a true Swiftie, you’re supportive of it.”

Kaylie McGee, 24, agreed. “I am so proud of her. I’m so proud of her. She’s using her influence to make a difference and to change things.”

Other super fans aren’t quite as thrilled, though still ultimately support Swift’s choice to speak out. Mark Tauscher, 38, who had traveled from Portland, Oregon just to see the film, spoke carefully when he said, “Sometimes I wish that artists stuck with what they’re good at, playing music and making music. However… I think she is in a good place and she’s got views that I think are fair. She has a voice and I agree with her voice. I’m not offended by that.”

But Jacob Berkowitz, 20, who had traveled from Los Angeles for the film, couldn’t be happier about it.  “I think as a public figure you have a responsibility to stand up for what you believe in,” Berkowitz said. “I think as a woman, it’s incredibly important for her to speak out. It’s been so taboo for women to give their opinion, but if anything, women are the smarter ones. I think it’s going to help a lot of young girls see that they don’t have to be silent anymore. That time is done.”

There you have it: Swifties are ready for a whole new Tay. Check out Decider’s full review of Miss Americana, and stayed tuned for more Sundance Film Festival coverage.

Taylor Swift: Miss Americana will play in select theaters and on Netflix on January 31.

Watch Miss Americana on Netflix