What Is A Penis Ravine? ‘Below Deck’ Showed Us (And We’ll Never Forget It)

What if I told you the most exciting part of last night’s Below Deck episode was the brief moment at the end where we got a sweet, sweet glimpse at deckhand Brian de Saint Pern’s penis ravine? Well, if you saw it, you would agree.

In the teaser for next week’s episode of the Bravo series, chief stew Kate Chastain is seen asking, “Did you see the penis ravine on Brian? It’s aggressive!” It’s very clear that she is pleasantly surprised by this new discovery. She goes on to explain, “You can have a small penis if you’ve got a big ravine,” and then laughing at that natural fact of life.

Viewers will get to see this body part in action when the guys present dinner to the charter guests — shirtless, of course.

And if the term “penis ravine” is news to you, well, get used to it sister. When I asked Decider’s very own designer, Dillen Phelps to whip up that delightful image you see above, he too was confused by the term, but then realized what I meant: “Oh, The Dick Root,” he said. I must admit, I had not heard that one before.

Other popular names for this area of the male body include: The V Cut, V Lines, Adonis belt, sex lines, V abs, V muscle, and even Do-Me Lines. So just in case Kate uses different terminology, we’ll all know what she means. A quick Google search defines a ravine as “a deep, narrow gorge with steep sides,” and yep, that checks out here.

She was still talking about this transformative moment in her life last month when she sat down with Decider — and yes, that’s because I had to ask. “I didn’t even notice Brian was there until charter three or four,” she admitted. “That’s when I noticed him, [because of] the penis ravine. I met Brian, he had a shirt on, I worked with Brian, he had a shirt on, we’re on charter, Brian has a shirt on. And then Brian takes his shirt off, and I was like, when did this guy join?”

Join me in wondering, maybe for the first time ever: is it Monday yet?

Below Deck airs Monday at 9pm ET/PT on Bravo. 

Where to stream Below Deck