Ronda Rousey Nearly Severed Her Finger While Filming Fox’s ‘9-1-1’

Even outside the Octagon, Ronda Rousey is a freaking champ. On Tuesday, the former UFC and WWE star shared a photo of her nearly detached finger, which she said was the result of a “freak accident” on the set of Fox drama 9-1-1. In a gruesome Instagram post, Rousey revealed that during her “first take of the day, a boat door fell on” her hand, almost severing her finger. When she finally noticed — because she didn’t even feel it at first! — she was rushed to the hospital, “where they promptly reattached [her] bone and tendon with a plate and screws.” Talk about horrifying.

Early Tuesday, TMZ shared a photo of Rousey’s injured hand and reported that the fighter-turned-actress “broke her finger on the set of 9-1-1,” but “never broke character.” The news spread quickly, and a few hours later, Rousey chimed in on Instagram to give fans the full story. “The word is out I nearly lost my finger shooting @911onfox,” she wrote, alongside a photo of her fingertip nearly detached from the rest of her finger (!!!!). “Freak accident, first take of the day a boat door fell on my hand.”

Rousey explained that she initially thought she had “just jammed” a few of her fingers under the door, so she “finished the take before looking.” But after “a break in the action,” she realized how intense her injury actually was. “I told our director the situation and was rushed via ambulance to the hospital where they promptly reattached my bone and tendon with a plate and screws,” said Rousey. “I returned to filming the next day and finished my scenes before returning home to recover,” adding that within three days, she “already had 50% range of motion back.”

View this post on Instagram

So the word is out I nearly lost my finger shooting. Freak accident, first take of the day a boat door fell on my hand, I thought I just jammed my fingers so I finished the take before looking (I know it sounds crazy, but I’m used to live audiences and never showing pain unless I’m supposed to) after a break in the action I told our director the situation and was rushed via ambulance to the hospital where they promptly reattached my bone and tendon with a plate and screws. I returned to filming the next day and finished my scenes before returning home to recover. Modern medicine amazes me, I already had 50% range of motion back in 3 days. There’s so much more than I can write here, stayed tuned via @rondarouseydotcom for the full story. And of course tune in to see how well I can act like my finger didn’t just fall off in this upcoming season of @911onfox

A post shared by Ronda Rousey (@rondarousey) on

Rousey is currently filming 9-1-1 Season 3 in Mexico. News of her casting was announced just last week; at the time, Deadline reported that the UFC champion will recur as firefighter Lena Bosko, a stoic member of the Los Angeles Fire Department Station 136 who leaps into action when a natural disaster ravages California. Viewers will get their first look at her character when 9-1-1 Season 3 premieres on Monday, September 23. As Rousey put it, “Tune in to see how well I can act like my finger didn’t just fall off.”

Where to stream 9-1-1