Steve Carell Isn’t Down for an ‘Office’ Revival

Ever since reboot mania began, fans of The Office have been desperately hoping that the beloved NBC sitcom would return for another go ’round. Who wouldn’t want to see what Michael, Jim, Pam, Creed (I’m obviously most curious about Creed), and the rest of the gang are up to all these years later? Unfortunately, it looks like you should keep dreaming, Office fans. In a new interview with TIME, the World’s Best Boss, Steve Carell, said that he has absolutely zero interest in reviving the comedy. I guess Office-ites (Office-ers?) will have to settle for binge-watching the series on Netflix again.

When asked about a potential Office revival, Carell responded without hesitation. “I’ve never thought of it as a good idea,” he said. “I think it existed in that time and with those people and it felt right. There was something so special about it, and I guess it’s an odd way to put it, but I love it too much to ever want to do it again. It’s too special to me in my heart in that period of time.” There you have it, folks. The Office is just too pure to messed with.

Carell explained that this is not a new feeling — he’s always felt that the NBC sitcom was “special.” The actor, who is promoting his new film Beautiful Boy, recalled a sweet moment he shared with his co-stars way back in 2005. “I remember it was the first week we were shooting the pilot, and Jenna [Fischer] and John [Krasinski] and Rainn [Wilson] and I went out to lunch…just the four of us,” said Carell. “We were sitting in this little diner in Culver City, and I remember saying, ‘Guys, if this works, this could be the most special thing that any of us are ever involved with.'”

Countless Golden Globe, Emmy, and Oscar nominations later, it looks like Carell was right.

Where to stream The Office