Here’s How ‘Burn Notice’ Helped Me Bond With My Co-Worker

Starting a new job can be a frightening experience. In September of 2016, I was hired at Decider. Since then, I’ve written a number of very important articles that have helped shaped not only the zeitgeist, but perhaps, in some small way, the entire world as we know it. My modesty is only Eclipsed by my affinity for Random capitalization. When I first started at Decider, I sat across from venerable movie critic and renowned Suits fan Joe Reid. Joe is a respected writer in this biz (business). I was the new guy whose only claim to fame was creating a TV show, Semi-Charmed Life, that centered on the main character losing $6.4 million dollars to actor Topher Grace in a poker game. Side note: Topher Grace wasn’t even involved in the project, which, in retrospect, was not a savvy move on my part.

Live, learn, etc.

In awe of Joe’s writing and general cool guy aura, I decided to ingratiate myself with him the only way I knew how: I sent him daily unsolicited facts about the hit USA series Burn Notice. Joe would be like, “Good morning, Josh!” and I’d reply, “Did you know that in nearly every episode of Burn Notice, somebody eats yogurt in Michael’s loft?” Joe would reply, “Huh, so you really like Burn Notice?” and I’d be all, “Not particularly. I’m just happy it exists.”

That would typically be the end of our conversation for the day.

Eventually, Joe began sending me random photos from Burn Notice, which I took as a tacit acknowledgment of friendship. Then we began a “Season Premiere of Suits” Post-it Notes countdown that our co-workers (I assume) loved and thought was very cool, neat, and not at all weird. Joe and I bonded. We bonded over the hit USA series Burn Notice. The world truly is an odd, magical place.

Anyway, all seven seasons of Burn Notice are now streaming on Amazon Prime Video.

People like to poke fun of Burn Notice, myself included, but the show is beloved by audiences and critics alike. Premiering in 2007, Burn Notice is a textbook example of how to craft an entertaining procedural. It’s a fun, sexy, frothy spy thriller that makes for a perfect lazy Saturday afternoon binge. You can fall asleep during Episode 3, wake up during Episode 7, and be like, “Ehh, I got the gist of this.” The show even begins each installment with a summary of the plot, as if to softly whisper, “Don’t worry, old friend. We got you. Burn Notice’s got you.”

My name is Michael Westen. I used to be a spy until… “We’ve got a Burn Notice on you. You’re blacklisted.” When you’re burned you’ve got nothing. No cash, no credit, no job history. You’re stuck in whatever city they decide to dump you in. You do whatever work comes your way. You rely on anyone who’s still talking to you: A trigger happy ex-girlfriend, an old friend who used to inform on you to the F.B.I., family too… if you’re desperate. Bottom line: As long as you’re burned you’re not going anywhere.

Burn Notice
Burn Notice: 75% action/25% sunglassesPhoto: Everett Collection

Burn Notice is just a whole lot of silly, absurd fun. USA knows how to make an entertaining procedural, and Burn Notice is certainly peak procedural. Watch it today and make a new friend tomorrow.

All seven seasons of Burn Notice are now streaming on Amazon Prime Video.

Stream Burn Notice on Amazon Prime Video